Last week's post discussed how a charge of boating while intoxicated, even if it is a first-time offense, can result in serious consequences for Louisiana residents and those traveling to this state. Indeed, the fines and other penalties, even for a one-time mistake, can affect a person's finances, livelihood and even freedom.
According to the official boating handbook of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, a person faces the possibility of a boating while intoxicated charge if he or she is suspected of having a .08 percent blood alcohol content. If a person is under 21, then he or she will face an OWI if he or she has more than .02 percent blood alcohol content. A person can also face a boating while intoxicated charge if he or she is found to be under the influence of drugs.